A parent's nightmare

“There was only one AP [advanced placement] biology/earth science teacher at our local high school. It was at “back-to-school” night the very first fall, as the teacher stared at the ceiling choking back tears telling us about the dying polar bears, that I learned we had a problem.

My oldest daughter ended up having this teacher for an advanced science course each year. I told my daughter to do what she must to get good grades, but I also provided her with alternate information. Behind the scenes, I spoke to administrators about my concerns. Their response was to infer that I am not very sophisticated and certainly not as wise as they are. My daughter begged me not to agitate the teacher, the principal, or the other parents out of fear that her grades would suffer. I bit my tongue for six years at the request of my children. That was then.

This high school’s most talented science students were required to accept the theory of “anthropogenic global warming” in their advanced classes because they were taught by a very overt climate-change activist. She incorporated “global warming” into some part of her science curriculum every semester in a well-respected school, in a desirable school district, in an affluent suburb of San Francisco. There was always a climate project or a connection made to Earth’s crisis. The kids were encouraged to take part in the teacher’s pet social causes and public protests. …

My daughter was required to see the movie An Inconvenient Truth by Al Gore. As time went on, she began to argue with me and told me I was provincial, unsophisticated, and a “flat-earther” because I do not accept that carbon dioxide is a dangerous chemical which is warming the earth. The science teacher was not only preaching the “Earth is GAIA” philosophy to her students, but she was also giving her young thinkers “attack words” for talking points. She drove a wedge of disrespect between me and my children which continues even though they have now graduated. On the topic of “climate change,” my daughter still has an arrogance and disdain for deniers. The public school teacher, abetted by her administration and protected by her activist teachers’ union, interfered in my relationship with my child and taught her that it was not only acceptable, but admirable to disrespect parental values.

My experience is extreme, but probably not unique. Leftist activists are teaching our children nationwide. They are working overtime right now to build an ever-bigger electorate of pliable, Kumbaya-spouting mush-heads. They think they are smarter than we are. We need to protect the minds of our future generations.” “Get Global Warming Out of Our Schools

Leave a Reply

